The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

marriage stats September 30, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings,Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 12:20 pm
Tags: ,

Obviously I believe in marriage and what it stands for, that it’s powerful and wonderful and a benefit to individuals, couples…even society.  But check out this article, “Census data: Marriages in 2009 at record low level“.  It talks about a bunch of other stuff besides marriage (income level, housing report, etc.), but I think the stuff about getting hitched is interesting.

“The new figures show, among other things, that marriages fell to a record low level in 2009, with just 52 percent of adults 18 and over saying they were joined in wedlock, compared to 57 percent in 2000.  On the issue of marriage among adults 25-34, roughly 46.3 percent reported they had never wed. It was the first time the share of unmarried young adults exceeded the 44.9 percent who were married.  The recession took a dramatic toll on the institution of marriage in America last year, new figures show, with weddings for people 18 and older at the lowest ebb in over a hundred years.”

Why aren’t folks getting married?  I’m not gonna lie, I’m surprised.  You’d almost think that the marriage rate would be higher in a recession…but I guess people don’t have to get married to live together and share bills and whatnot.  They don’t talk about cohabitation, but I’d be willing to be that that’s way up!

Did you and your honey consider waiting out the bad economy to get married?  I wonder how many dudes are ready to ask their girlfriend’s to marry them, but are sweating out the recession.  I talked a lot during my planning phase about the cost of weddings, it’d be interesting to see what the economic impact of not having all of those weddings is having.  Our small budget wedding cost $11k…and a month later we went to one that cost $50k.  Those are tangible additions to a sputtering economy.  So I guess what I’m saying is, go on and get married…it’s good for the country!

 

8 Responses to “marriage stats”

  1. jameil1922 Says:

    It’s no secret people are waiting until later in life to marry for career and other reasons. The black brides and newlyweds I read are almost all over 30, some near 40. I think for some the cost of a nice wedding is way too daunting. The fact that 11k is a SMALL wedding is mind-blowing. And that in some cities a 50k wedding is a medium budget is at my current price point is unfathomable. More than a notion.

  2. Karen Says:

    To be clear, you don’t need a wedding to have a marriage, I just think folks have given up on marriage as a concept and are content with shacking up and/or remaining single. It would be interesting to compare marriage stats to the number of babies being birthed both in and out of wedlock during this tough economy. Hell, they cost way more than $50K over their lifetime…And, as one of the 40 yo brides that jamiel is talking about, I am am spending waaay less on a wedding than I would if I were younger since my friendship circle has tightened over the years.

    • And, at least for me, I’m too cheap to spend that kinda money! We went to a friend’s wedding a few months ago and you could just tell that the wife was young…she spent too much money, energy, and time worried about what other people thought. I’m too old to be worried about all of that!

  3. Sarah Says:

    To be honest, Tony and I talked a lot about whether we should get married at all. We knew the commitment was there, but we had both been divorced (my divorce was/is still within the last five years and with kids, so it’s messy and fresh). With the way my divorce has shaken out, and the impact of combining our incomes on taxes and credit ratings, etc., we’re looking at taking a hit financially by getting married.

    What made the decision for us was the need to give Tony a legally-recognized role in my children’s lives.

  4. steve Says:

    I think the expense and fuss of the big day puts people off. My brother got married last week and never told a soul. They just signed the papers and carried on with life as if nothing had changed! I only found out from speaking to my mum, he couldnt even be bothered to tell me! 🙂

    • I would be ticked…to say the least! But I understand. The Mister and I discussed eloping or just going to Vegas with a few folks and bypassing all of the hoopla. Now that I’m on the other side, I’m glad we didn’t.


Leave a Reply

