The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

12 Cozy Date Ideas October 5, 2010

Filed under: Date Nights — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:06 am
Tags:

I’m totally stealing this from over at Simple Marriage, you can click here for the actual post…except I’m putting my spin on her ideas.  I’d love to hear your spin on things in the comments!

End of the year project. She says that we should do a home project for a “date”.  Ummm, no.  He’s not getting off that easy, we’re going somewhere, dangit!

Make soup. She says cooking together helps you bond…I say me cooking and him doing the dishes and a great bonding afternoon.

Walk through area nature trails. Okay, this one I like.  I LOVE going on walks with The Mister.  It gives us time to talk or not talk, but it’s fun to be outside together.

Sip spiked hot cocoa. I’m for anything spiked…just be prepared for me to want to take a nap afterwards, lol!

Cuddle up in a blanket on the porch. I like this one!  We’ve got a nice screened in porch that we could use.  Or, since our house is a bit on the chilly side as it is, we could just do this one inside with a nice movie.

Break in the flannel sheets. Not sure why this is a date…ooooohhh, “break in” the sheets.  I get it.

Share a bestselling book. Read out loud to each other?  I think not sister.  We are taking a class together at church if that counts.

Plan a vacation close to home. Meh.  I’d rather save the money for an actual vacation.

Make apple pie. Don’t know why this is a date idea, but I have been thinking about making apple pie lately…it’s that time of the year.

Exchange a snuggly gift. She doesn’t mean this in an “adult” manner, lol! *giggling uncontrollably*  She’s talking about buying your honey some slippers or a warm robe.

Snuggle beside a bonfire. We’ve got a fire pit that we never use…perhaps we should.

Attend a high school sporting event. This would be a cute idea if I didn’t spend my every waking moment in a gym, surrounded by coaches.  That’s not a date for me, that’s called “work”.

What do you guys think about these date ideas?  Anything you and your honey do that I should be trying?

 

8 Responses to “12 Cozy Date Ideas”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    There are some good ideas but I have no desire to attend a high school sporting event. Hubby and I like picnics. Cooking together can be a cool thing but like you I’d much rather do the dishes!

  2. Tiffany Says:

    I’m totally with you on cooking and having him do the dishes. These men just don’t understand that a little helping hand goes a long way with us ladies!
    Hubby and I live near a high school, so Friday night football games are somewhat enticing – I haven’t been to one in 10 years! But I hear these days they’re charging about $10 to get in. *blank stare*

  3. Sarah Says:

    These seem more like “ways to show your appreciation for each other” than date ideas.

    Baking a pie, for instance. My guy loves pie, and would really appreciate a pie, or cookies, or anything of that sort, but it’s not exactly a “date” with me shooing him out of my way and covered in flour and apple peel.


Leave a Reply

