The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Do you really want to be married? October 17, 2010

Filed under: Advice — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:04 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s sometimes what I think when I hear some of my friends loooong list of demands desires in a mate.  A friend of mine posted this on Facebook and I thought it was too funny…it’s called Black Marriage Negotiations!  They’re literally at the board room table hashing it out!  But, and maybe I’m wrong, I don’t think that this type of attitude is solely in the Black community.  I’ve got plenty of friends who aren’t Black with their hands on their collective hips talking about what they want in a man.

Anyhoo, I’m not saying ladies need to pick up dude from off of the exit ramp holding up his cardboard sign…but there’s a lot of good men out there.  And remember, in order to demand perfection…you’ve got to be perfect yourself.

Here’s the video…hit me up in the comments with what you think.

 

10 Responses to “Do you really want to be married?”

  1. Wanda Says:

    I cannot access the video. Sorry.

  2. Kim Says:

    It is funny, but I think a little over kill.

  3. Mrs. K Says:

    One word: WOW! Really though I can’t think of one man (from any race) that fits those rigid criteria–not even my wonderful hubby. Video is hilarious but really, I have heard a few of those things said by some of my friends (guys have it sooo tough).

  4. Tiffany Says:

    HILARIOUS!!! And yes there are women out there who have these requirements. I don’t understand how a woman can require a man to have achieved all these levels that she probably hasn’t reached herself. I strongly believe in finding a man with POTENTIAL. Why does he have to have everything right now? Why can’t a man and a woman achieve their goals together? It’s so much more rewarding that way, in my opinion.

  5. I did finally watch it and I guess I am just over it. I’m just tired of the media taking swipes at black women and wish they’d give it a rest.

    • I just see it (especially this one in particular) as satire and comedy. Remember Martin’s Shanaynay? She was such a ridiculous stereotype that no one could get offended…but it was funny because we all knew people like her, right?! That’s what this is to me.


Leave a Reply

