The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Love your honey… October 21, 2010

Filed under: Meals/Meal planning — Happy Nappy Bride @ 2:55 pm
Tags:

…and make him eat good food!

I know some of you out there are like me and a little nutty about food.  I’m totally anti “food” that’s just add water and eat for dinner.  Now don’t get me wrong, we’ll still have those bad for you (but oh so tasty) Little Debbie snack cakes around the house…but for “real” food?  It’s got to be immediately recognizable as food.  Like an actual fruit or vegetable.  Or a cut of meat that looks like, well, meat…and not a pieced together mish mash of meat pieces.

Anyhoo, here are the ways I try to stay on top of feeding my fam the good stuff:

  1. Eat fresh foods. I have the world’s biggest junk food tooth.  I won’t say sweet tooth, because it goes well beyond the sweets, because I like the salty’s too, lol!  But to balance it all out, I put a lot of effort into making sure that we’ve got healthy and tasty options prepared and ready to go in the fridge.  Our dinners are always made with real food and we typically have fresh veggies and fruits in their for munching and snacks.
  2. Cook. That’s obvious right?  I should have said, cook in large quantities.  I’ll make a couple of meals at a time, because I don’t know about you…but my job has me working like a field slave.  So I don’t have time to come home everyday talking about making dinner.  When I cook, I usually make enough for a couple of lunches and dinners to come from one meal.  I’d prefer to cook fresh everyday (and I do when I’m off in the summers…thank you academic calendar!), but that’s just not an option while I’m working.
  3. Learn. My mom is a good cook and she made healthy meals for us when I was growing up, so she set a good example.  But once I started learning about food and what it does for our body…I got serious about eating good stuff.  Michael Pollan’s books have been super helpful for my learning why crappy food is crappy and why I should eat the good stuff.  That may sound silly, but when I’m faced with choice of Micky D’s or homemade…his books have helped bring me back from the fast food ledge.

Anyhoo, I’d love to hear what your household (whether you cook or it’s your hubby) does for food.  Do you talk about cooking and how you eat?  Or do you secretly make the fam eat healthy?  Do your kiddos like healthy or no?

 

14 Responses to “Love your honey…”

  1. K. Rock Says:

    I really never considered us to be healthy eaters until I looked up and kinda realized that we were. I don’t buy snack foods like chips and stuff mostly because I dont like them. We do keep a nice sugary box of cereal around on a regular basis though. And I cook almost every weeknight real meat and vegetables. So they have no choice but to be healthy if I have anything to do with it. But I think they all like it though.

  2. jameil1922 Says:

    I’m reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals” right now! Okay I just got it from the library but I’m going to read it and I’m excited about that! 🙂

  3. Frugalista Says:

    Good idea about cooking more in advance. I NEED to do that. Why do it 5 times a week (as if that would ever happen!!!) if you can only do it a couple times a week. Getting home between 5:30-6pm doesn’t allow much time for cooking through the week so lately I haven’t and he hasn’t so we’ve been eating really weird dinners lately!!

  4. Of course you know hubs does almost ALL the cooking. And because he cooks so good, we are too fat (we already weren’t little folk). But because I write the grocery list I have been making sure to include more fruits and veggies and I put myself on a no juice diet (sugary drinks are my weakness). What I really need to do is move my arse now. Working on that now.

  5. Mrs. K Says:

    I totally agree with you. I have a sweet tooth too so we rarely have junk around the house…way too tempting and I have zero self control. I also think it’s important for people to drink more water. Some people consume so many high calorie sugary drinks and sodas. Most days I drink water although I do give in and drink a coke sometimes.

    I’m a little more health conscious because I am aware of my risks for certain diseases especially being a black female. It’s not only because I want to look good–although that’s a bonus 🙂

  6. AM Says:

    I try to eat healthy because it makes sense. However I’m tired of cooking – its become drudgery. I’d rather someone cook for me. Cooking big meals never worked for me – it was already a large family so I had to do it that way anyhow.
    I’m just tired of cooking and I’m willing to starve until my husband starts cooking. 🙂

  7. Tiffany Says:

    I cook a lot, but our problem is food that goes to waste. We don’t have kids yet, so basic things like milk, bread and eggs spoil constantly. Same thing with fruit. I’m working on cooking meals that will use those ingredients, but it’s hard!


Leave a Reply

