The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Fidelity November 7, 2010

Filed under: Building a life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:23 pm
Tags:

This song*, The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice, was our first dance song.  It’s from the movie Closer from a few years ago and I remember both loving the movie when I first saw it and thinking that anyone who’s thinking of getting married should see it.  It came out back when I lived in Houston, so not only was I not married…but very single and hadn’t an inkling that The Mister existed.

If you haven’t seen the movie, you should.  It stars Julia Roberts, Jude Law, Clive Owen (who is hot, hot, hot in this movie!), and Natalie Portman.  It’s about couples who grow apart and seek closeness (hence the movie title) from outside of their current relationships…and how that closeness is false.  This movie goes into such deep personal detail of how looking for love/sex/companionship outside of your marriage is painful.  Your heart will break when you watch the movie as you watch the characters make their missteps and then go through their various ways of protecting themselves from the hurt they’ve caused themselves and their partners.

So put it in your Netflix and let me know what you think.  Has anyone else seen this movie?  What did you think?

*This is the official video, so it’s got clips from the movie in it!

 

9 Responses to “Fidelity”

  1. Amy Says:

    I saw the movie when it came out and while I don’t remember the details of the plot I remember leaving the theater feeling very sad! Infidelity is not the business!

  2. Frugalista Says:

    sadly I love all these actors and saw the dang movie but can’t even remember it! I know I loved it. My memory sucks!!

  3. Mrs. K Says:

    I like all the actors too but I’ve never seen this movie. I think I meant to watch some time but just never did. I will have to watch sometime. Pretty song though!

  4. I haven’t seen the movie, I hope they have it on Netflix so I can add it to our queue.

  5. MrsTDJ Says:

    I missed this when it was out, but thanks to the power of Netflix, I saw it recently. Deeply painful story and watching those relationships dissolve was hard.


Leave a Reply

