The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Keep it tight November 10, 2010

Filed under: Fun with hubbie — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:50 pm
Tags: , ,

Looks matter!  I know that may seem quite obvious, but it seems like so many times folks are trying to convince us ladies that we shouldn’t be so worried about what’s on the outside, but what’s on the inside.  Well, let me tell you how happy I was that my latest issue of Psychology Today addressed this issue.  Here’s the cover…a bit over the top, no?

Anyhoo, how about this line from the article: It turns out that the real beauty myth is the damaging one [some] feminists are perpetuating—the absurd notion that it serves women to thumb their noses at standards of beauty. Love it!  I’m not saying that I run around the house in a ball gown, quite the opposite actually.  My job enables me to wear shorts and a tshirt on most days.  But I do try to keep my hair cute and makeup on…and I’m currently increasing my nighttime wardrobe options.

3 interesting things from the article, The Truth About Beauty

  • How we look matters (duh): She talks about how dressing as if you’re “just the girl to come clean out your sewer line!” (lol!!) isn’t the way to find a partner who is visually stimulated (read: men)…but neither is wearing twenty layers of makeup and dressing like a hussy.
  • Intellectualism isn’t the antithesis to beauty:  Visit any college campus and there’s always the battle between the young ladies who are dressed to the nines and wearing heels to class and the women who wear Birkenstocks and don’t shave their armpits.  It’s always seemed like the smart girls were too cool to care about looks, now thanks to my Psychology Today, that myth has been shattered.
  • The ole bait ‘n swtich: You know where I’m going with this.  The lady who stayed fine while she was dating her man has turned into Lurch now that she’s married.  Home girl used to work out like a champ, ate healthily, and dressed great.  Now…not so much.   Now she’s running around looking a HDM:  Hot Dang Mess.

Anyhoo, this one was good for me to read.  I’ll blame my tshirt and shorts habit on my job…but season will be over soon.  I’d rather not pick up another excuse but rather stay cute for my honey.

What do you guys think?

 

6 Responses to “Keep it tight”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    I think looks matter. I’m not necessarily saying beauty but at least effort. First impressions are often based on looks when it comes to people, food even!! It’s just the way it is. And you should never totally just give up and give in to your granny panties…even though I am guilty of it at times!

  2. Karen Says:

    you make me what to subscribe to psychology today! love this. having to choose between being intelligent or feminist & HOT is redic. but it’s being played out everyday on from HS to corporate boardrooms. I like looking good and go to great lengths to keep my ish fit and “fancy” (nails done, hair done…). i like looking good and the fact that the hubs appreciates it = BONUS.

  3. K. Rock Says:

    The advice I give at every bridal shower I go to is to keep your looks up. It makes me sound like the most shallow person in the room but people really underestimate how important that is. Gotta keep em interested!!


Leave a Reply

