The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Home is where the heart is November 14, 2010

Filed under: Holidays — Happy Nappy Bride @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , ,

Have you and your honey discussed the holidays?  How are you guys planning on handling them?

I wonder if it matters how extravagant your fam is about the holidays…like, do you just chill or are they a big to-do?  For both The Mister and I’s families, it’s pretty chill.  Like we go to somebody’s house, make a plate, eat/chat/nap/repeat.  My family’s all over the country, so it’s nice that there’s not a big agenda because we don’t see each other very often and we just want to catch up.

How do your families react when you tell them that you won’t be around for Thanksgiving/Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanazaa?  I could use some tips for softening the blow, because I’m clearly doing it wrong, lol!  My fam is always quietly ticked with me when I give them the news.

 

4 Responses to “Home is where the heart is”

  1. auntbethany Says:

    I always used to love having the whole family together for the holidays (uncles, cousins, aunts, 2nd cousins, grandparents, etc). But once I started growing up, I realized that they all had their own lives, too. My cousins eventually had kids of their own, and they wanted to have their “own” Christmas. I’ve learned that no matter how small your gathering may be, you must make the most of it…even if that means watching “A Christmas Story” for the 100th time on TV, while you sit around a Little Caesar’s Hot-N-Ready pizza and enjoy the warmth of a fire.

  2. Mrs. K Says:

    Both holidays are a big deal for my family (especially christmas). For my husband’s family Thanksgiving is a bigger deal so it kinda works out. Good luck-just remind them that there’s always next year 🙂


Leave a Reply

