The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

MIA November 23, 2010

Filed under: Question/Poll — Happy Nappy Bride @ 12:17 pm
Tags:

Let’s take it back for a moment ladies…to the time when we were single.  Remember when you’d see a cutie and think, “I wonder if ole boy is married?” while stealing glances at his left hand and praying for nothing shiny to be there.  Now bring it forward and let me ask you a question:

How would you feel if your husband didn’t wear his wedding band?

I’m not talking about in the case where his job just doesn’t allow for it…like he works with his hands and would put himself in danger by wearing a wedding band.  I’m talking about the guy who just doesn’t want to wear it…who says that he’s not used to wearing jewelry or whatever.  What do you think about that?

Whenever I see a guy not wearing his ring, I always wonder what’s up with that?  Did he just forget?  Does he “forget” often?  Is he shady and trying to see if something could go down?  Does he like female attention even though he won’t do anything about it?  What do you think about it?

 

14 Responses to “MIA”

  1. No bueno, in my book. That’s a red flag to me.

  2. Frugalista Says:

    I like it that hubby wears a badge of marriage that’s on display like I do. It would certainly bother me if he didn’t want to and he didn’t have a real good reason.

  3. MrsTDJ Says:

    I have to concur. Unless there is a really, really, really good reason. And as I type this, I can’t think of one single reason that would not upset me. *lol* Perhaps it’s fine for some, but for me? Tis a problem.

  4. AM Says:

    its not a red flag for me. my husband doesnt wear his ring – he doesnt wear any jewelry. I think it bothered me initially, but i know where his heart is and thats all that matters and that is evident in his actions.
    ps – we’ve been married 21 years and counting!!!

    • It’d be a grumpy 21 years for me, lol! I just know how I thought as a single lady…and that ring created an immediate “avert your eyes from the married man…danger Will Rogers!” reaction.

  5. Tazzee Says:

    It might cause me to raise an eyebrow but if I’m marrying him that means I trust him. I would try to change his mind though, LOL.

    The other day my hubby thought he lost his ‘everyday’ ring. We went out to dinner and were flirting with each other while sitting at the bar. The bartender kept making cute comments about our flirting. I looked at his ring finger and whispered “I wonder if she thinks I’m cheating on my husband”

  6. K. Rock Says:

    My husband doesn’t wear his ring all the time. He takes it off to play sports and sometimes he won’t put it back on for days. It doesn’t bother me about him because I trust him. My main concer is for him not to lose the thing!

    If somebody else’s husband isnt wearing a ring, I dont have any feelings about it because maybe his wife is in the same boat as me.

    Also my dad and uncles dont wear wedding rings, so since I grew up with that example, it never bothered me when my hubs didn’t wear his.

  7. Nerd Girl Says:

    Wouldn’t bother me. Actually, I am more prone to not wearing my ring than is my husband. Some days it just irritates me, so I don’t wear it. While a ring is an outward symbol of commitment, to me it is just that – a symbol. Those who are going to do right are going to do right – ring or not and the same holds for those who are going to do wrong.

    Like K Rock, my dad has never worn a ring and my folks have been married for 39 years. To each his/her own.


Leave a Reply

