The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

My obligatory “what I’m thankful for” post November 25, 2010

Filed under: Building a life,Holidays — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:37 am
Tags:

Well, since it’s Turkey Day…or more aptly titled “Thanksgiving Day”, I figured I’d take the time out to talk about some of the things that I’m thankful for on this holiday.

5 things I’m thankful for on Thanksgiving 2010

  • My family:  We’re spread out all over the country, so it’s really nice to be able to get together with them during the holidays.  When I lived in Texas, I was able to see them quite often and now that I’m gone…it’s only occasionally, which makes me sad.
  • The Dave Ramsey Financial Peace class The Mister and I are taking:  It’s been an amazing way to start our marriage.  We all know the stats for deal breakers in marriage…and financial argument/differences/problems lead the list.  It’s been great to know that we’re operating from the same starting point in terms of how we’ll deal with budgeting and spending.  I highly recommend this class!  He’s got a book too.
  • No debt from our wedding & honeymoon:  Along those same financial lines, the wedding depleted our savings…but at least it’s paid for.  And for that I’m very grateful!  I have to remind myself of that every time I get grumpy about the numbers I see in our savings account.  I’m thankful that we were able to have an amazing wedding and honeymoon on our terms.
  • My brother wants our wedding photo book!:  A lot of times, I looked at a lot of the expenses from wedding planning as a waste.  Well, not exactly a waste, because I definitely valued the food, and the dress, and the flowers, and everything else that we spent money on.  But sometimes it’s like, “no one else cares about all of those things I obsessed over”.  Then yesterday, my brother looked at our wedding book again and asked for one!  Someone else appreciates something that we did for our wedding…yippee!  A smell a Christmas gift in the works.
  • The Mister:  Clearly a good decision on my part.  He’s pretty awesome (and cute too!).

What are you thankful for this holiday?  Hit me up in the comments.

 

6 Responses to “My obligatory “what I’m thankful for” post”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    you’ll have to read my blog as I have done my obligatory thankful list as well!! happy thanksgiving!

  2. jameil Says:

    Aww! That was really sweet. I like the Thanksgiving things going aroundn blog world today. Sometimes they seem trite but I like this. My bff is getting married next summer and all of the many many costs of wedding planning are making me want to elope when the time comes. I just do not have the desire to drop really even 4 figures on a wedding… let alone 5. And I don’t want to feel pressured to invite people I don’t really want there just to soothe feelings in the future… You can see you struck a nerve. But I was in much better spirits today! 🙂

  3. Amy Says:

    I love your #3. It’s so important to start out a marriage with financial stability and going into debt for a wedding is not putting the best foot forward!


Leave a Reply

