The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

FYI: It’s December Next Week! November 27, 2010

Filed under: Holidays,Home life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:24 am
Tags:

Eek…is anyone else freaking out that December starts on Wednesday?!  Where did the year go?  It’s been a pretty good year for me though:  got married this summer (6 months tomorrow…Woot! Woot!!), got published a couple of times in work related periodicals, and had tremendous success with my team on the work side of the world.  But now it’s time to think about the holidays and I’ve got three questions for you:

  1. How are you and your honey handling gifts?:  Last year we didn’t have to worry about it, because we weren’t married yet, but now I suppose we’ve got to come up with a plan so that we’re not shopping all willy nilly.  Are you guys going to set a price limit to what you’ll spend?  How will you decide on how much to spend on each family member?  Like, if I spend $100 on my mom…should he spend the same on his?  FYI: I’m miserly.
  2. Online or in-store?:  I’m an online shopper myself.  I can do without the crowds and pushing and shoving.  Plus, I feel like the deals are just as good online as in-store.  What’s your preference?
  3. How will you divvy up your holiday time?:  This year is going to be a bit different because we won’t be able to fly down to see my fam for Christmas…this is literally the first time in a decade that we won’t be together during that time.  (Unless I can convince The Mister to drive down there…tall order, though.)  How do you guys decide how to split time with the fam?

I can’t wait to hear how you guys tackle these situations…hit me up in the comments!

 

8 Responses to “FYI: It’s December Next Week!”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    As a married couple do you then start writing from both of us on the gift tag? That’s my only question. Other then that we’ll just spend what we want. it’s more about finding the right gift for mom’s etc then the amount spent. Just stick to your budget. we just go to my mom’s house because his family is all out of state. Sometimes I like the hustle and bustle of being out for holiday shopping. My problem is I just don’t ever know what to get anyone!

  2. Jameil Says:

    Yay Christmas!! I don’t like the mall in Dec. AT ALL!! But I still do a mix of in store and online. Thanksgiving w/my mom, Christmas with his.

  3. Amy Says:

    I’m buying the gifts for my fam and he’s buying the gifts for his and we are putting “from Jonathon and Amy” on all of them!

  4. Were doing photo books (wedding, engagement pics, etc) for our parents, and photo CD’s for the rest of the family. Were trying to keep it simple and stress-free!


Leave a Reply

