The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Grace Under Fire: The Wife Edition December 29, 2010

Filed under: Building a life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 1:31 pm
Tags: ,

(I searched Google images for “grace” and “graceful” and this pic is the best I could come up with.)

I told you guys that I had a business trip last week and about the silly stuff that I saw while waiting for the plane.  Well, the trip back was no different!

First of all, there was the TSA guy who put my bag through the machine twice and did a physical search of it three times (before I yelled at him that “that’s my personal stuff and I don’t want everyone looking at it!”) only to find that the offending object was a stack of business cards.  Seriously?!!  *sigh*   I’m pretty sure that I had steam coming out of my ears.

But before that, I saw the epitome of a graceful wife.  It was amazing!  I only noticed the couple because I was trying to get my boarding pass and the kiosk was shaking because some man was pounding away at his across from me.  I looked at him like he had two heads on his neck, but his wife remained calm.  Then he started cussing a BLUE STREAK!  And not the polite curses either, lol!  And his wife remained quiet and calm and seemingly unperturbed.  It was incredible…such grace!  So I took some lessons from this lady on how to remain graceful under fire with The Mister.  Here’s what I learned:

3 things required to deal with a testy hubs

  1. She remained calm. The husband went from 0 to 60 really quickly.  One minute, he was trying to get boarding passes, the next he was shaking the kiosk and throwing F-bombs around.  She let him get his anger out without interrupting or trying to stop him.
  2. She removed him from the situation. While he was spouting off about having to go through the line and blah, blah, blah; the wife wordlessly took their confirmation info from the husband.  When he was spewing venom while waiting in line, she tapped away at the kiosk and got the boarding passes.She didn’t match his anger with her own at his making an *ss of himself in public.
  3. She didn’t say a word about it. Now this is what I was really looking for…the wife triumphantly declaring how awesome she was and how silly he was for getting so upset.  But she never did it.  She never gloated about how easy the kiosk was or how he got all upset for nothing or how he embarrassed her…she could have, because it was all true!  She remained calm and quiet and the husband started a convo on a totally different topic and they were fine.

Oh to be an experienced married lady…one day I’ll be as cool, calm, and collected as that lady was.  Dare to dream!  Have you guys seen any examples of a married lady with more time in who you’ve looked up to?  What was the situation?

 

2 Responses to “Grace Under Fire: The Wife Edition”

  1. Lady A Says:

    ohh wow! I am so using this for one of my post! So needed! Of course I will be giving u credit and the link to your site!


Leave a Reply

