The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

I resolve… January 1, 2011

Filed under: Building a life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve only got two resolutions.  So without further ado *ahem*:  in 2011, I resolve:

  1. To save money. I’m not saying that I’m a money-grubber, but I want to have loads of loot for when The Mister and I get old.  I mean baller-type money.  Why?  Because I want to have money for our kids’ college education so that they can start their life without debt.  Because I want us to be comfortable and be able to travel without worry.  Because I want to leave my/his/our families money when we pass away.

    That’s easier said that done though, right?  It will mean less eating out, more nights in, using the library rather than going to Borders (one of my lifelong dreams is having a library in my house, so this is a tough one), taking my lunch every day, buying less meat, less clothes & shoes shopping.  That’s a very uncomfortable list of things that need to occur, but (as my boy Dave Ramsey says) we’ve got to lead an uncommon life now so that when we’re old, we can live an uncommon life–of comfort and wealth.

  2. To be less selfish. As amazingly wonderful and awesome as I am, I’m pretty selfish sometimes.  I’ve heard folks say that marriage is God’s way of making you a better person and I couldn’t agree more…it’s just painful sometimes.  One of my girlfriends asked why people say that marriage is hard work and I told her it’s because you realize how cruddy you are sometimes.  A good example is when The Mister and I have a tiff, I always talk about myself and my feelings…and I may eventually work around to finding out how he feels.  That’s no good because that means that I’m making him someone who’s just there to please me and make me happy.  And when he doesn’t, I’m pissy.

    Remember I’m a church girl, so I’ve got a great book that I had laying around that said something profound:  There is a false sense of self-protection in harboring an offense.  It keeps you from seeing your own character flaws because the blame is deferred to another.  You never have to face your role, your immaturity, or your sin because you see only the faults of the offender.  Therefore, God’s attempt to develop character in you by this opposition is now abandoned.

So that’s what I’ve got…to be the best wifey I can be for The Mister and to set us up to be kazillionaires in our old age.  What are your resolutions?  Even if you don’t believe in them, are there things you want to work on this year?

 

8 Responses to “I resolve…”

  1. jameil Says:

    Sounds great! I love resolutions! I’m posting mine on Wednesday. I’m trying to achieve each and every one! I made some great progress last year by keeping myself up to date every month!

  2. Saving money is at the top of my list too!

  3. Our immediate goals are to get another car and get some furniture and start trying to have a baby. In the new 2 years, get the house ready for sale and purchase a single family.


Leave a Reply

