The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

5 Love Languages January 8, 2011

Filed under: Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 7:06 pm
Tags:

I got a 5 Love Languages Devotional (for myself) for Christmas and I love it!  It’s a quick read since it’s a devotional and so far, they’ve been very useful for me.  Here was today’s…can’t wait to hear what you think:

“Where Change Begins”

As a marriage counselor, I’ve drawn one conclusion: Everyone wishes his or her spouse would change.  “We could have a good marriage if he would just help me more around the house.” Or, “Our marriage would be great if she was willing to have sex more than once a month.”  He wants her  to change, and she wants him to change.  The result?  Both feel condemned and resentful.

We think we see each others’ faults clearly, and we put forth a lot of effort to try to correct them.  But in reality, our own sin blinds us.  If we haven’t dealt with our own failings, we have no business criticizing our spouse’s.

There is a better way: Start with yourself.  Admit that you’re not perfect.  Confess some of your most obvious failures to your spouse and acknowledge that you want to change.  Ask for one suggestion each week on how you could be a better husband or wife.  To the best of your ability, make changes.  Chances are, your spouse will reciprocate.

All of them are good like that…and not too long.  It’s a great way to keep the main thing the main thing.  What do you do to keep your marriage healthy and on track?

 

2 Responses to “5 Love Languages”

  1. Egypt Says:

    I love your blog! I didn’t know there was a devotional for this book but I’ll have to get it. As a newlywed, I am learning already that change has to start with me; not my spouse! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

