The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

The posting grind January 11, 2011

Filed under: Writing — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:02 pm
Tags: ,

I’d love to hear from other newlyweds (it’s been almost eight months now!!) about this whole blogging thing.

Was it just me, or were we all crazy with the posts?  I always posted everyday…and didn’t think twice about it.  But now that I’m married, I don’t feel like I’ve got all that much to say.  I certainly freak out every now and then about not having mastered marriage, but generally I feel like I’m a better person than I was eight months ago.  But is that exciting enough to write about?  Would you want to read about how awesome things are?  Booooring!

I feel like I’m not enjoying talking about this phase of my life…and I want to!  I don’t want to feel like I’m waiting for the next big event…and you all know what that’s supposed to be.

Maybe I’m just being weird.

Am I the only one struggling what their blog is supposed to be and where it’s supposed to go?

 

8 Responses to “The posting grind”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    I wrote before my wedding so it’s only natural for me to write after. I’ve been keeping a journal since I was 10! Planning a wedding is super exciting and eventful and it’s non stop. No detail is too mundane when it comes to posting about your wedding so no wonder we were posting every day. My posting has slowed down but that’s ok. My life has too.

  2. I just started talking about what ever I wanted to and you should too. You like to cook, so why not post some recipes. I know you have a stepdaughter, can you tell us a little bit about her (provided your hubs doesn’t mind). I know you have a separate blog for your job, but I don’t know what you do other that I know you are a coach. You have plenty to talk about. What are you reading that’s non marriage related? Hobbies??

  3. Patti Says:

    I agree with Frugalista – I’ve always had some form of a blog, but when wedding planning I had a gazillion things to talk about. My posting definitely started slowing down when the rest of my world picked up. I graduated, Hubs went to the police academy, were trying to buy a house, etc etc etc. So I havent been blogging. I miss it, but I also dont want to me the wifey blogger that just talks about what she cooked (or feels guilty for not cooking).

    All thats to say, post when you feel like it. I really enjoy when you share with us other things you’ve seen/read about being married life. If the posting mood only hits you ever so often, I think thats perfectly okay 🙂

  4. Amy Says:

    I am in the same boat with you. During the wedding planning phase there was a plethora of things to talk about. Now that the wedding is over my posts have slowed down from posting every other day to posting once or twice a week. Anyway like one of the above posters mentioned I’d love to hear more about your job, your interaction with your new stepdaughter, etc!

  5. Kemi Says:

    Hi Dawn. I go through the same thought every now and then. I mean no one wants to hear I’m happy I’m happy oh, look, I was happy yesterday too! I thought they’d be nothing to write about but then I realize or try and remind myself that my blog is for me. To document this phase in my life and I should stay true to that. If I’ve changed just a little bit, well, so be it. So many things happen each day that we think is boring but others may just find them interesting or inspiring, so go for it. Even the boring stuff. 🙂

  6. I too blogged before I was married, but it was on tech stuff. After the wedding I decided that the blog would just chronicle my newlywed years. Some days I actively seek inspiration, but most days I just talk about whatever interests me on that day. Just keep it simple and let it flow 🙂

  7. Shanada Talley Says:

    I’m just horrible with my blogging! Period, being a newlywed I try to convince myself that life has’nt changed too drastically. I have so much on my plate, but like Natasha I actively seek inspiration or whatever interests me.

  8. Thanks folks…I think I’m almost over my existential blogging crisis!


Leave a Reply

