The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Figured it out! January 26, 2011

Filed under: Building a life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:13 pm
Tags:

Well, after many doctors visits, blood tests, and ultra sounds…the docs have figured out what’s wrong with me.  Before I tell you, I just want to warn you of the dangers of internet diagnoses.  After putting my symptoms into a search engine, I was sure I had all sorts of awful diseases and maladies.

Turns out I have IBS, or irritable bowel syndrome, of the constipation variety.  So, not a disease and not anything that can be fixed with medicine or whatever, but it’s something that I’ll have to deal with for the rest of my life.  Symptoms are: gas, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, fatigue, headaches, and backaches.  I swear to you if you put those symptoms into WebMD, you could either be pregnant or have cancer!

Anyhoo, to what I’ve got to do.  I’ve learned a lot about soluble and insoluble fiber and how they make me feel.  We think that fiber is awesome and great for us, but for me…insoluble fiber is evil!  Things like raw green veggies, carrots, and fatty foods are on the “try not to eat” list.  While solubles like bananas and potatoes are good for me.  The good news is that if I start with solubles, then I can add insolubles without all of the yucky side effects.

So that was the diagnosis.  Anyone else have to deal with this?  Any tips for me?

 

8 Responses to “Figured it out!”

  1. K. Rock Says:

    Man. I guess this is one of those ailments where you just have to change the way you live. At least there is a solution. You’ll be back whole in no time!

  2. Frugalista Says:

    Glad it’s not something worse! Hopefully it won’t be too difficult to follow the diet.

  3. alison Says:

    aww geez, I’m sorry to hear that. my roommate had that in college and I know she suffered a lot from it. I hope that you’re able to get rid of some of the discomfort with just a few minor changes!

  4. Karen Says:

    Glad it wasn’t anything worse. I was experiencing the same exact symptoms, BUT I also had nasty heartburn. Doc told me it was IBS, put me on heartburn meds, same fiber diet regimen…its killing me, I’ve gained weight from lack of the leafy and spicy stuff and my current addiction to all things potato, pasta, and creamy since they don’t upset my stomach. But, my symptoms have subsided, thank God. Told that it is often caused by stress. I’m Type A to the max, so I’m working on it.

  5. Karen Says:

    OH, I also tried papaya pills (you can get them from GNC). They really do aid in digesting anything too fiberous!


Leave a Reply

